Which Braid

brantwood

Hi all. Can anyone recomnend what braid would be best to use for just using to feed a swim with the preston wire cage feeder. I have never used braid before so is there a difference in braid makes and do the different brands react differently when used I.e. do they tangle or knot when casting does spring of the spool when new. Cheers all

TrickyD

Site Supporter
Hi all. Can anyone recomnend what braid would be best to use for just using to feed a swim with the preston wire cage feeder. I have never used braid before so is there a difference in braid makes and do the different brands react differently when used I.e. do they tangle or knot when casting does spring of the spool when new. Cheers all
I've never used braid as a main line, but it seems the more strands the better.

frankg

Site Supporter
I use 0.12mm Diawa J Braid...8 strand

brian carragher

Site Supporter
I use power pro, its one of the better braids, nice tight weave and a more rounded profile than most makes

Silverfisher

Site Supporter
Powerpro and spiderwire are my favourite casting braids. Steer clear of the cheap ones as whilst they are absolutely fine for dropping off the back of a boat (and much cheaper for filling a multiplier!) they don’t tend to cast well.

rd115

The Touch ™
Site Supporter
I've got cheap braid I got from aliexpress on my deadbait rods. Can't say I can tell the difference between that and the daiwa J braid it replaced

I'm looking into getting some of the KastKing braid from AliExpress for my pike reels for next winter, see how it compares to expensive power pro 👍

Simon90

I've been using Diawa J braid 8 for the past few years, and I'm very happy with it. It's the first braid I've used so can't compare it anything else, but it's works very well for feeder fishing and seems to be durable.

Mike atkinson

Site Supporter
I’m very impressed with the new drennan acolyte braid, and I’ve tried quite a few, only £15 for 150mtrs, 👍👍👍

PAB

Site Supporter