What's the actual benefit of 'hollow' over solid pole elastic or are we being misled?

Mork

I'm a newbie here - please be gentle!

I've been out of the fishing game for 20 years and need to replace my old pole elastics.

So, I googled & youtubed pole elastics and I'm confused about the marketing/media explanation of the benefits of paying £15 for a hollow elastic instead of the good old £2.99 Preston slip. You see... when I studied mechanical science at Uni followed by 35years in the industry, I learned all about tensile properties of elastomers, and It's a fact that cross-sectional shape does NOT affect tensile properties (for the same material and cross-sectional area).

I'd be interested in what's peoples subjective opinion and if they have any objective/scientific information to back-up their explanation please?
In the meantime, as a retired research & development test engineer, I will conduct some 'real' tests and let you know what I find.

Neil ofthe nene

Doing things differently.
Site Supporter
As someone who has not really ever got on with hollows i too have not fully grasped their benefits over, say, a softer solid. So with my limited knowledge I see no benefit in using a 14 hollow instead of a 14 solid that could not be gained by just using a 10 or 8 solid and puller.

By the time you have pulled more than half the elastic from a pole you must be at least doubling the elastic's rating. So why not use a stronger hollow or similar grade solid?

This brings into a world of opinion and away from science. Those that use hollows will tell you two things. The first is the adage " The harder you pull the harder the fish fights". Thus the theory being that fish surrender to the lighter pressure of a hollow more readily than that of a similar grade solid.