What 11ft feeder rod for commercials (overwhelmed by choice)

MrTencherson

Hi Guys,

I've decided to treat myself to a new 11 ft feeder rod and I'm overwhelmed by the choice out there so hoping you guys can help me find the rod that matches my needs best. I don't have time to travel to various tackle shops to waggle rods etc so happy to take a punt as I'm sure it's pretty difficult to buy a naff rod now days.

I am a novice/pleasure angler and mostly fish commercials now days and want something that I will use in the summer for Method feeder work to 40m for large match sized carp (average 8lb but occasionally a big-un up to 20lb max). In the Winter I want to use it with a cage feeder / maggot feeder for large silvers and the occasional carp. Probably looking to use 6 to 8lb Hyper sensor on my Daiwa Ninja 4012 reel.

Key consideration:
  • I want a 2 piece rod that I can leave made up in my rod holdall for convenience.
  • It must have a good playing action - i.e. needs to be fun
  • It must be robust - I don't want anything fragile - i'm an oaf and will break delicate things :ROFLMAO:
The kind of rods that have caught my attention so far are:
  1. Guru N Guage
  2. Daiwa Yank n Bank
  3. MAP Parabolix SUV
  4. Drennan Acolyte Plus
Anything obvious missing from my list? Budget is sub £200 but I prefer 'good value' to 'cheap'. I have missed off Cadence (I know they get recommended a lot) as they're out of stock and I broke my Cadence CR10 #1 on it's first outing which has put me off a bit (my fault though - told you I'm ham-fisted).

Thanks in advance

Al

rd115

Barbus Minimus
Site Supporter
I have a 10ft Yank n Bank and a 12ft Parabolix SUV, both fantasticly made rods with great actions. Yank n Bank comes with it's own ready sleeve which is a great touch, also armlock handle.