Waggler float shotting?

Rick123

Site Supporter
Swim is 8' deep and quick about walking pace (slow walking pace) The books advise shotting under the float, and something like 8 number eight shots down the line. Does that not take too long for the shot to reach the bottom in winter? If the fish are not rising in the water much, maybe a foot, what other shotting would you suggest.

Cheers all.

Rich.

Freesolo82

If its taking to long I would calculate you are fishing too light and need to up the float weight so you can put more shot on the line.

I'm no expert and I'm interested to see the answers you get as I'm looking to fish waggler myself when rod arrives

satinet

Site Supporter
You can put a bulk at say 50%-75% depth and droppers from there to the hook link. By bulk i mean bulk of the shot other than the weight that goes at the float.

I'm talking about the left hand of these diagrams. I think what you are worried about is the right hand. Middle would cast badly (more like a slider shotting pattern). Left is a decent setup for bottom fishing generally.
cabe2fc091e6e5e06322503125442dc2.gif

I prefer loaded floats but unloaded floats give you a bit more flexibility in terms of shotting pattern. I tend to use the drennan loaded inserts but they only have 1bb other than the loading. Generally that's enough though. 8ft is quite a deep rig however.

Generally speaking you want to go lighter as you go towards the hook. So every weight is either the same or less as you move down towards the hook. If you put too much weight down the line it casts like a bolas.

If you want the float to not move with the flow you might want to lay some line on the bottom. I don't know if you're talking river or lake here. I've fished a lake where it had a strong tow before (think they had opened the sluice to fill the nearby canal). Fish were still taking as the float moved.

Last edited:

satinet

Site Supporter