Unbelevabe

PAB

Site Supporter
72352712_2418250714937611_6716053520534994944_n.jpg

Freesolo82

Site Supporter
Doesn't a Healthy environment/eco-system eventually balance itself out? I hate it when Pike ruin my peg but they have a purpose and would never harm one. I'm no expert

Simon R

Site Supporter
As I put on their facebook page:
You know what happens when you remove pike indiscriminately?
Obviously you don't (or don't care) but EVERYWHERE else it's been done you get an explosion of jacks.
You won't lose so many sizeable trout 'cos the small pike will hammer all the fry and there simply won't be any small trout left to grow to a takeable size.
Do you know what the favourite food of a large pike is? - it's a small pike - but if they've all been wiped out they'll eat the trout instead.
I thought the kill, kill, kill approach had been consigned to history since it's proven not to work.
Left alone the balance of pike to trout will level out - it always does.
Evidently they don't like criticism as the comment's been deleted and looks like I've been barred from commenting in future

Simon

Tyecon

Unfortunately this culling has been going on for a few years now and it is just not Lough corrib

Ken the Pacman

Site Supporter
This has gone on for many many years in Ireland Scotland Wales and even England on the basis that removal somehow prevents other fish being eaten which it does not unless you completely eradicate Pike from your water,
I can remember being told to throw it up the bank when I caught a Pike by people who should have known better and I can also remember tons of quality Roach and Dace being netted from The Tweed and spread on the fields for fertiliser.

Sam Vimes

Site Supporter