Too cold for barbel?

AdamRussell93

So I’m having one last attempt this year at trying to catch my first river barbel, but am I too late? I’m new to barbel fishing so any tactics or tips would be a massive help.
I know they’re bigger this time of year but a lot harder to tempt into feeding. Thanks!

MKulicka

So I’m having one last attempt this year at trying to catch my first river barbel, but am I too late? I’m new to barbel fishing so any tactics or tips would be a massive help.
I know they’re bigger this time of year but a lot harder to tempt into feeding. Thanks!
Here is a nice article, including influence of water temperatures on barbel activity:

Wise Owl

Account Locked
As good a Chance now as any really, ive had some right Barbel this time of year.

AdamRussell93

Here is a nice article, including influence of water temperatures on barbel activity:
Brilliant thanks mate, I’ll have a read through now

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
I don't know about the Barbel but it was too cold for me today - never got out of the damp mist and the air temp must have been around 4oc

AdamRussell93

I don't know about the Barbel but it was too cold for me today - never got out of the damp mist and the air temp must have been around 4oc
That’s why I’ve decided to go Sunday instead of tomorrow when it’s forecast to be a tad milder.

AdamRussell93

Where ya thinking mate ?
It’ll be on the river don mate but I’m torn between 3 stretches.
1st option is where the don meets the Dearne and it’s slow and deep.
2 is sprotborough weir where the water is a steady pace but not so deep.
3rd is a day ticket stretch at hooton lodge that is known to produce to big fish, but it is pressured.

Wise Owl

Account Locked
It’ll be on the river don mate but I’m torn between 3 stretches.
1st option is where the don meets the Dearne and it’s slow and deep.
2 is sprotborough weir where the water is a steady pace but not so deep.