tips for a commercial fishery

Status
Not open for further replies.

rob27

peg nine
Hi everybody,
Going to a fishery for the second time tommorow- first time didn't catch a thing so advice is needed....please

(1) What shape pole float should I use ?(I have loads of pole floats but unsure of shape to use)

(2) What shotting pattern should I use?

(3)What depth should i start at?

(4)I regulary fish a canal and the baits I use are Sweetcorn, maggots and bread - any other baits I should use -(if I use pellets (are they any good?), which I have never used before, do I use a pellet band and I assume that you must have a pair of forceps to put these on the hook unless using soft ones?)

(5) I also own a quiver tip is this worth a go?

(6)Any general tips?

Thanks for your help on any of the above

Trogg

the bouncer
Staff member
Site Supporter
Hi Rob

Sorry i can't help you much with pole fishing cos i don't do it (shut it scoobs).

I'd recommend meat,pellet (most pellet bands you just push on the pellet & the hook goes through a little tag), bread & maggot.

Without knowing which fishery,stock,type of water etc i can't really be any more help.

I'd definetly give the rod a try with a ledger & meat on it just drop it in & leave it till a fish finds the bait.

Tight lines mate hope you catch a PB.

Alan

I'll have a fiver on the black un

jonesr

Rob.What sort of pole? Will it stand up to Carp fishing.It needs to be able to take at least a 10/12 elastic.Dependant on what size the Carp are.
Floats, make sure they are carbon stemmed.Floats are made for Carp fishing,believe me they need to be.
Make your rigs to allow for about 2/6 inches to lay on the bottom.You can shallow up later if need be.
No fancy hook lenghts go at least 3/5lb or higher if the fish are into double figures,and make sure the hooks are up to the job.

I often rig up with 6lb straight through to a 12 if using meat or worm.

But a lot depends on your pole!