Thinking About Match Fishing

Grimberian

Hi Folks,
A few posts round here have got me thinking about trying a match next year.
I am still a beginner, but I wonder if it would improve my fishing somewhat and make me think a bit differently about tactics.
So, couple of questions...
1. I currently have the basic kit that I need for my pleasure fishing - a couple of rods (waggler and quiver), hooks, shot, some method/pellet/cage feeders etc - every match angler I have seen is kitted up like heaven knows what - seat boxes with more gadgets than my car. Is there anything you can recommend as a must buy in the Christmas sales, or is rocking up with a sainsburys bag of bait and a camping chair totally acceptable?
2. Would you join a club for a match or go for an open match? I am wondering if being part of a local club might be a bit more relaxed than an open with people coming from everywhere taking is super serious - or are club matches much the same?
3. Any other tips? It just seems like a match might be something to aim for next year, but I would be lying if I said it didnt make me feel nervous about pitching myself against seasoned anglers!!
Cheers All (y)

ukzero1

Growing old disgracefully.
Site Supporter
@Grimberian

I use a chair now when match fishing, it lightens the load. You never know when you get to a fishery how far you have to carry your gear, not every fishery has parking behind your peg. But use what you're comfortable with.
Definitely join a club, you'll learn more from club matches than you would just rocking up in an 'open' where all you'll be is pools fodder.