The very basics for day's fishing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,

I am a novice angler who gets very little opportunity to fish. I have a day or two coming up and I want to get the most out of it. I really don't care what I catch or how much - I just want to keep it really simple, turn up and start fishing without worrying too much about technique, rigs etc.

It's not that I'm lazy, but when you get so little chance to fish, then spending too much time practising stuff or trying to learn stuff for later application seems pointless - maybe I've got that wrong.

I'll be coarse fishing on still water with a waggler. Keeping it really simple, what the tried and tested basics I take with me: hook lengths, mainline, hook sizes, hook baits, stuff to feed the swim with, floats etc.?

Many thanks

JW

phil-k

3bb insert waggler
split shot in various sizes
4lb maimline
3lb hooklength
16/18's eyed hooks -barbless
1 pint of red maggots
disgorger
landing net
sissors

Can't go wrong with that lot I reckon.[8D][;)]

Last edited:

The_Sogster

Stick and 'Pin
Don't forget your catapult and maybe some groundbait or pellets. Perhaps some corn or meat for the hook also. Oh and a disgorger.

badpegpicker

Proud to be a.....
I think Philk has pretty much hit the nail on the head.

If we knew what sort of still water you are fishing (i.e commercial carp or natural mixed lake), it would be easier to give a little more accurate info.
Mind you sometimes its nice to get back to basics, and just enjoy catching anything that swims.

I popped down our local river one evening last week, and havent been there since I was a kid!

All I had was a light float rod, and a pint of maggots, trotting a small waggler.

After loads of little bleak, I started getting a few better sized roach, and perch. I finished up catching some cracking fish, with the roach going to just over 1 lb, and perch about the same!

Good luck though.

And welcome to MD's[;)]

Originally posted by metalforever