The Method

Status
Not open for further replies.

stemlfc

Steve
I'm rather new to this method but last few sessions I've had some good fish using it and in the past it's always been a reliable source to catch. However I can't help but feel I'm doing something wrong.

The best success I've had has been by using a bog-standard method feeder, running rig with about three inches, with primarily two hair rigged pieces of corn. Also switching between small boilies, flavoured corn, meat or halibut pellets.

Would it be better to use a fixed feeder rather than a running one when using a hair rig or not?

I feel it would be better to use a fixed rig as the hook would (hopefully) manage to hook the fish anyway.

bream dream

up the Villa.
the method wether it be inline(running)or elasticated(fixed)is self hooking(bolt),the fish is hooked by the weight of the feeder and short hooklength.hense the need not to strike.

the best way to hook your bait is on a hair as this tends to hook the fish better.

banksy

Life Member
Site Supporter
Do check first whether fixed feeders are allowed on the venues you are fishing!
Where it's permitted, I prefer the in-line type where the hook length swivel is pushed into plastic tubing running through the feeder. Under pressure it will release, and seems like the best of both worlds.
[:)]

alcockmat

try just usind double maggot, i have found it ups your catch ratewithout sacrificing size of fish,

carp-catcha

Recently I've been using the method a lot on rivers and lakes and got some good results with a new quick and easy mix, which I will detail now...