TDR vs TDM

Zerkalo

Much difference between these two reels? Like the look of the TDR but the TDM is £50 cheaper... will be buying one in 3012 size.

Cheers

nejohn

Site Supporter
The TDR is undoubtedly better spec'd but in the real world could you tell the difference unless you were fishing every day and really hammering your reels. I have been using TDM's for about 4 years now and not had a problem with them.....both great reels and should give many years good service (bobco doing TDM's for £70)

Matt Simmy

Matress
Site Supporter
Ive had both and much prefer the tdr. Smoother and a better ‘feel’ to them. Handle them both and you will realise. Tdr is a much dearer reel tho

Zerkalo

Thanks for replies. I was even considering a cheaper Daiwa option previously, either a Ninja or EM MS which were on sale but I'm thinking I might as well go for a nice high spec reel. At the moment the TDR is taking my fancy, it looks like it has a nice build with quick drag and nice metal line clip. So I might as well go for the TDR when I can afford it in a week or two. Though I could probably get 3 Ninjas for the same price.

PAB

Site Supporter
I have some of the Daiwa 18 TDR QD 2508 Double Handled and find them ok I bought them as a replacement for my old shimanos for me but I still prefer my old shimano bait runners the XT 2500 FA so I sent them all for a five star service the best reels I have ever used bar none I simply love em but with time I may get used to and love the TDR's.

rd115

Barbus Minimus
Site Supporter
TDR for me. If it's the new TDMs they feel a bit cheap and plasticy you can "feel" the extra money when you pick up and start winding a TDR.

My plan is to get either a 3012 or 4012 TDR this year for the mid range feeder.

Zerkalo

Nice one. Do like the look of TDRs.

@PAB What's the equivalent in Shimano around 3000 size now, and are baitrunners good for float fishing as well as light feeder work?