Spinning for Pike

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey! I am new to spinning for pike and I have tried it out a few times on my local canal (Rochdale Canal). I been three or four times and had about six small pike. Silver and blue spoons and dark coloured plugs seem to get me the takes but I am wondering how i could get threw to the bigger fish? Some of the pike taking 3 inch spoons are like 7 inches long lol.

Has any body fished this canal? If so which are the best stretches for spinning and which tactics get you the most takes?

Any advice would be welcomed!

Cheers

Towpath Tyke

If I were you I`d be fishing the deeper areas for the larger ones, somewhere with sunken trees and bushes etc... But then I`d also deadbait it as well using a pike bung float and a dead sea/course fish! If you must spin, try a medium plug that resembles a pike or a perch!! [:)]

newies_maggots

thats a bloody hard question....

just gotta keep PLUGGING away hehe, try dead baits and live baits, change to plugs rather than spinners / spoons

the biggies are out there, its just the case of finding them

cess monkey

Matthew, the trouble with using small lures an spinners is that pike and perch of any size will have a go at them.
Stepping up your lure size could help but small pike seem to have no idea of what size fish they can eat.
I have caught pike that were smaller than the lure i was fishing with, it does sort out the bigger ones most of the time but theres always going to be the odd snappy "jack" that seems hell bent on attacking anything that you put past its nose.

banksy

Life Member
Site Supporter
The second biggest pike I ever caught (17lb 8oz) took a size 12 trout lure !

To be honest, I've had much more success with a wobbled sprat, single hook in the head and a size 10 treble in the tail.

Though it's best if you can buy them fresh, they fall to bits after a couple of casts if they're frozen.