Sowing seeds

emmaemma

Site Supporter
I have decided to sow some flower seeds this year but I am a complete novice. I have a small mini PVC covered greenhouse and I am currently looking at getting some 15 cell insert trays and lids of which each cell is 65x63x52 deep. I intend putting one or 2 seeds in each cell filled with seed compost. There are instructions on each packet of seed that I can follow. I have read that a lot of seeds need covering to exclude the light until shoots appear but none of the seeds I have say this. The tray for the inserts can be with or without drainage holes. which would I need and why? Is it good to cover the seeds with vermiculite? do I need to use a propagator in the mini greenhouse? I know I can wait till it's warmer and plant them directly in the soil, but I intend to sow in the next week or two.

Are there any tips you can give me before I begin or have you any experience you can share?

balloon vine Cardiospermum halicacabum
morning glory ipomea heavenly blue
morning glory ipomea grandpa ott
morning glory ipomea quamoclit red
morning glory ipomea mina lobata
black eyed susan Thunbergia alata
cup & saucer vine Cobaea scandens
bell vine Rhodochiton atrosanguineum
nasturtium nasturtium salmon baby
nasturtium nasturtium jewel mixed
nasturtium nasturtium canary creeper
love lies bleeding Amaranthus
bells of Ireland mollucella

robert d

Allways trying to improve
Site Supporter