should i use braid ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

ian

Hull,Afghanistan
this time of year i usually use a maggot feeder with mono line....ive been told braid is better as you get more responsive bites....can any one give their views or the pros or cons please....im led to believe its quite pricey too...

ian

fishing_mad

it is quite pricey and it doesnt strech so it may snap with a feeder i use mono and its ok for me

[:)]delighted fisherman[:)]

esox.20

04/11/01 - 12/10/15
In Memoriam
To answer your question fully would take a book. I have been using braid now for 8 months now. So heres my short answer.
Braid has very little stretch approx 5% nylon 25-30%. So yes bites will show up better. The down side to this is that due to the non stretch properties snap offs can be common on the cast this I think is caused by loose coils leaving the reel and catching on a rod ring.
The risk of being snapped is greater to unless the clutch is set correctly.
To help its advisable to use braid rated at least twice the breaking strain of nylon you would normally use, this will be thinner than the nylon.
I would also suggest that for fishing at less than 30/40 yds mts nylon is best above these distances then braid has its uses.
To end braid is not the bee all and end all, its properties are so different from nylon it can be hard to alter your methods to adapt to this.
As to the cost theres lots of bargains available on line, one place to look is on ebay.

chill out go fishing

snakey

PAA COACH