Rivers in Yorkshire

Howdy all,

So I've got a Leeds and York book, and I am still learning as a river angler, mainly with a quiver tip, ledgering and feeder work. And my question to you is, if you had to choose a type of fish from the following rivers to target, what would you go for? Mainly in the winter, as that is where we are...

Wharfe
Derwent
Ouse
Nidd
Swale
Aire

I am struggling to pin down tactics when I set off on my trips to the bank on certain rivers, and just to be clear, I'm not the sort of angler who wants to wait 10 hours for a big fish. Happy to catch most fish, but really need to be getting regular bites.

Thanks for any input you may have!
Dave

tipitinmick

Site Supporter
^^. As above. Safety is paramount. I think your best bet maybe the Wharfe. Wise Owl knows it very well. Or maybe the Ouse around York. That should be safe enough to fish. Yorkshire rivers can be very dangerous in winter. Also if you are from Leeds ( tier 3 ) you may have to think about venturing into York. Hopefully Wisey will see your post and give you a reply. Might cost you a bag of jelly babies though. 🙄🤣🤣

Sam Vimes

Site Supporter
In your shoes, I'd be looking at the higher reaches in winter. Grayling are likely to oblige in the worst of conditions. The areas where they are prevalent also tend to be shallow and rocky, therefore the banks tend not to be quite as clarty, steep and dangerous.

tipitinmick

Site Supporter
In your shoes, I'd be looking at the higher reaches in winter. Grayling are likely to oblige in the worst of conditions. The areas where they are prevalent also tend to be shallow and rocky, therefore the banks tend not to be quite as clarty, steep and dangerous.
Good call. These are the times you wish you had a 4x4. My van gets stuck on wet grass. 🙄