Rigs

Silasfish

I am new to fishing but I'm hooked (sorry!). Not joined a club yet so I'm cutting my teeth on commercials. When I go I take a feeder rod set up with method feeder and a carp rod.
Rigs for method feeder seems to be universally agreed as a 4 inch hook length, but for carp fishing it appears there are so many rigs utilised, both in terms of length and style.
I've started to tie my own hook lengths and get a real kick from doing so, but my question is if I were to take a selection of rigs/hook lengths to help me to vary my tactics on the carp rod, what would you suggest I take along? Is it onne style with variation of bait, hair length etc or would you take a selection of styles?
Thanks in advance.

juttle

Grumpy old cripple
Site Supporter
As above, if there’s not massive carp present I’d just go with the feeder rod. If you’re careful you’ll be able to handle Fish up to 19 - 21lb on a decent feeder rod, probably bigger. Personally, I’ve had an accidental cat of 32lb on a Drennan vertex feeder with no problems. As regards rigs simple is always best, method feeder, short hooklink and buried bait, of cage feeder, 10” - 12” hooklink will be better than some mad creation involving swivels, clips, poly balls and all sorts of other junk that’s the latest “guaranteed “ fishcatcher that the Facebook “experts” are raving about!

as in all things fishing, just remember, K.I.S.S!

rudd

Site Supporter
Stick with two rigs:
One for pop ups and one for bottom baits/ wafters.
Hook size - bait dependent.
Length of rig, start at 9 inches and drop an inch until you find length that works best on the water.
You may even get down to 4 inches!
For bottom baits would recommend the blow back rig How To | Korda

Silasfish