Reservoir bream fishing

Silverfisher

Site Supporter
So my grandad has been inspired by the article in this months IYCF to possibly have a go at grimsbury reservoir for the bream next week before the rivers open. It's not really my sort of venue but seeing as I've done a lot of wag and wag silvers fishing on fairly standard sized stillwaters over the last couple weeks a change of scene and style before getting back onto running water is probably not a bad idea so I might join him. Figured if the guy in the article got 40 odd for 200lb surely we can achieve maybe 10% of that lol

Slight challenge is that I've never used a feeder on a Stillwater before and have only been doing it on rivers about 5 years with grandad not massively more experienced at it either so will be a bit of a standing start. We've done a fair bit of breaming on the Thames so have roughly the right gear and half an idea of what to do but it seems from the article that it is a much more extreme form of fishing so I have a few questions on stuff not super clearly covered in the article.

It seems that a lot of bait is needed but it's not clear how much from the article? We don't use masses on the thames but then on there we are more just looking to pick up a few bream amongst mixed bags of other species plus there's obviously a lot less water involved.

Distance seems to be the in thing but is a big chuck actually necessary on such waters or just the done thing? We've only got 11ft rods that can cast maybe 60 years at a push but more comfortable at 40-50 so hoping that'll be enough on a water that isn't massive by reservoir standards.

Lastly what sort of hooklengths do people use for such fishing? We generally use footish 3 to 4 pound ones to 16s or 14s the Thames so would start blindly with them but no idea if that's sensible on a reservoir.