Quite A Quick Quiver Query

Norman Baits

Account Locked
Hi guys, I'm new to Maggotdrowning, in fact I'm pretty new to fishing per se and I'm hoping that someone might help me help with regards to quiver rods.

I went with my son to a tackle shop the other day and we both have quite weak rods that we bought second hand from Cash Converters to see if we like fishing. Both of our rods have a low casting weight (mine is only 20g) and my son asked a staff member in the tackle shop to recommend a rod for fishing the River Don, which is quite a deep, fast flowing river with barbel that would probably be a bit too much for the rods we had.

He sold my son an own brand (Advanta) 12 ft, 2lb rod for £40 and said that it could handle heavy feeders (3 ounce easily, but up to 5 ounce) and hold the bottom well in the Don.

Then I said I wanted the same rod but it was the last one in stock, so I asked for something comparable and ended up with a Korum rod for £25 more. It's a 12 ft Barbel Quiver Rod (new model from 2019) with 2 quiver tips, a 4 ounce one and a 6 ounce one. He said it was comparable to the rod my son bought, i.e. it could do the exact same job casting, i.e. it could cast the same weight.

Since I got home I've been trying to find out the test curve and maximum casting weight for the rod I bought to see if it really IS comparable to my sons new one, but it doesn't say anything on the rod and wherever I see the Korum Barbel Rod collection on-line, it gives the test curve and casting weight measurements for every rod except the one I bought. Even the manufactures website gives the stats for the whole Korum Barbel range without giving them for the quiver rod I bought, but I gathered from a certain page (that I can't find now) that mine might have a test curve of only 1.5Ib.

Does anyone know if that's true for this rod?