Pellet Waggler

Status
Not open for further replies.

scott187

Ive just started fishing the pellet waggler method this year for the first time......Im new to this method and Ive had great success now that the temperatures have started to gradually increase.......

Theres quite a few posts on this forum about the pellet waggler but I thought Id start a new thread detailing my rigs, tactics and baits etc.....as I really love this method.....if anyones interested

Rig - See attached diagram

2010610205636_untitled.bmp

Rod 11 ft Shakespeare micro waggler
Reel Daiwa Whisker
Line 7-8 lb mainline (Daiwa sensor) / 6-7 lb hooklength (Daiwa silkshock antares)
Small Swivel this prevents twist when constantly casting and retrieving (preston mini match swivel)
Waggler adapter sensas do a good one and also preston allows you to quickly change floats without breaking down rig and also locks the float to the desired depth without any need for locking shot if youre using a loaded waggler can easily be adjusted if you wish to change depth
Float Preston loaded dumpy waggler in 8g or 6g dependent upon conditions (wind etc.)
Hook Preston PR36 hair rigged with band just below bend of hook (Gardner bands)

Bait

Ideally you need to use slow sinking carp feed pellets low in oil and not the halibut ones
I usually take a bag of 6mm and 8mm dynamite baits carp feed pellets (XL Range)
I feed the 6mm constantly with 8mm as hook bait but now and then Ill feed a few 8mm pellets
Youll tend to go through quite a lot of pellets in the session if the fishing is good so it can be quite expensive.
I know that a few people tend to buy Skrettings pellets by mail order in bulk to cut down on costs.

Tactics

I tend to pick a corridor of water straight out in front of my peg and constantly work and feed it.