Okay, so there might be something to this pole malarkey after all

Chervil

Site Supporter
I have been fishing for what must be 55+ years, but have never really tried using a pole, so I thought I would give it a go. We have been away for a couple of weeks, so it was the perfect opportunity. I spent about half the time using a 4m Middy Battle Zone whip and a 6m Middy White Knuckle margin pole, (which just allowed me to reach some far bank lilies).
I must admit, that I found plumbing up a lot easier and was fishing much more accurately. Whilst I don't think it will ever become my main means of fishing, or spend thousands on a pole, I can definitely see the advantages. My next step will be a slightly longer pole, I'm thinking of the Preston Edge Monster, not sure whether to go for the 8.5 or 10m.
A question, at what length of pole would you advise using a roller and retainer/sock?

booboo

Site Supporter
Love my edge monster although I'm sure you'll get other / better suggestions. Get the 10m then you have a not bad all rounder if you put a lighter elastic in the spare topkit. Unusually for a cheap pole it's pretty comfy at full length all day - certainly up to 9.5 at least.

Dave Spence

MD virtual champion 2020. Golden Pie winner 2018.
Site Supporter
I have been fishing for what must be 55+ years, but have never really tried using a pole, so I thought I would give it a go. We have been away for a couple of weeks, so it was the perfect opportunity. I spent about half the time using a 4m Middy Battle Zone whip and a 6m Middy White Knuckle margin pole, (which just allowed me to reach some far bank lilies).
I must admit, that I found plumbing up a lot easier and was fishing much more accurately. Whilst I don't think it will ever become my main means of fishing, or spend thousands on a pole, I can definitely see the advantages. My next step will be a slightly longer pole, I'm thinking of the Preston Edge Monster, not sure whether to go for the 8.5 or 10m.