Newbie top kits/elastic question.

Barrycuda

Hi all, first post so go steady on me 😉

Been fishing two years, all feeder based, and Im just starting to look at pole fishing. Complete noob with no idea about poles. Got myself a bargain on a Browning 9/11m slimlite which comes with three top kits.

I match fish solely natural venues, mainly reservoirs, with the very occasional odd trip to a commercial with my little lad for some quick and easy action. I was originally going to get a long whip as Ill mainly be fishing 8/9/10m to hand, but after waggling all the options the slimlite seemed far better value as its obviously more versatile.

My main match venue is a reservoir with lots of depth in all pegs. Im talking some pegs with 30 foot at 4 metres out and other areas with maybe 18 foot at 4 metres out. I also regularly fish matches at another res where depths are less extreme, where fishing at 9m might have depths of 8-15 feet.
Oh and one other venue I match/pleasure fish which is 4-8 foot all over.

Generally my target species are roach to 1lb, ide, hybrids and skimmers up to 2lb, the odd nile perch upto 3lb and the odd proper bream upto 4lb.

So, my question is what do I do with my three top kits?

Two are already fitted with side pullers, one with a 5-7 browning microbore and the other with a 9-13 browning microbore. The other wasnt elasticated and I have fitted that with a preston slip 8 black on a winder bung on the advice of a local tackle shop, they said thatd be good for the deep swims.