Natural Water Feeder Fishing Help

matiny2k

As a feeder fishing novice I'm looking for some advice please.

I'm wanting to try some feeder fishing on the local River Ouse at Littleport in Cambs. I guess it's about 30 to 40 metres maximum across and 12ft to 15ft in depth. I'll be fishing for anything that moves - hopefully skimmers and if any proper Bream come along then great.

My question is about which type of rig to use. I read about so many variations. What's a simple rig that can cope with what I'm trying to do ? I'm seeing twisted loops, paternosters, river rigs etc - not sure where to start.

Thanks

:)

Poacher Pat Felstead

The rig my dad taught me has always worked and I've never changed it. Put a swivel on your line make a loop about 8 inches with the swivel in the loop then at the end of the loop make another loop about 2 inches. You should have a 6 inch loop with a swivel and a 2 inch loop. Attach your feeder/bomb to the swivel and your hook link to the small loop.

ukzero1

Growing old disgracefully.
Site Supporter
Depends on what's allowed, but I use inline/free-running. Some places don't allow paternoster, fixed feeders etc. so check.

Poacher Pat Felstead

As a feeder fishing novice I'm looking for some advice please.

I'm wanting to try some feeder fishing on the local River Ouse at Littleport in Cambs. I guess it's about 30 to 40 metres maximum across and 12ft to 15ft in depth. I'll be fishing for anything that moves - hopefully skimmers and if any proper Bream come along then great.

My question is about which type of rig to use. I read about so many variations. What's a simple rig that can cope with what I'm trying to do ? I'm seeing twisted loops, paternosters, river rigs etc - not sure where to start.

Thanks

:)

Attachments

• Screenshot_20190815-105518_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20190815-105518_Chrome.jpg
    16.9 KB · Views: 33

NoCarpPlease

Site Supporter