maybe a stupid question!!!

SoulSoldier

Site Supporter
I am a newbie to this site so please bear with me.. I bought two brand new Harrison advanced rods. One 13ft spliced tip GTI match and one Evolution match rod from a local tackle shop which was sadly closing down. I emailed Steve Harrison who explained the difference between these rods and I use the Evolution and a superb rod it is. My question.......I am a traditional angler using methods learnt in the sixties/seventies, When I resumed fishing some 8 years ago I was badly ‘maced’ by a total tw*t of a local (not the decent tackle shop who has closed) but another tackle shop which is still open (there’s no justice). Basically this person told me that traditional angling was dead and everyone used pole,pellet waggler, quiver tip rods etc etc. My question would it be worth trying to sell the GTI old stock but brand new or should I just leave it in the shed?

nejohn

Site Supporter
If you are intending to do any running water fishing I would certainly hang on to the GTi it is a very good stick float rod and would also make a nice silvers waggler rod

ukzero1

Growing old disgracefully.
Site Supporter
He's only telling you that to buy the expensive stuff. have you tried the GTI yet? Good for the stick float.

Ooops, sorry @nejohn, posted at same time.

Tinca Steve

Irregular member.
Site Supporter
Got to agree with those above. It's a very good river rod and won't do to bad on still waters but it isn't a carp rod.

Neil ofthe nene

Doing things differently.
Site Supporter
I must admit to being confused about what rods you have and what you want rid of and why.

Me and my lad

Site Supporter
Perhaps it is me but i would hang on to it. In 30 plus years of fishing the wheel just turns and things come back. Wish I had bought a DAM tectron/futura in the day, reckon they could do a better job on the canals than the newer models.

Silverfisher

Site Supporter