Match fishing without a pole

Silasfish

Been fishing 18 months. Trying to learn as much as possible with waggler fishing, feeder fishing and occasionally getting the carp rods out.
I want to get into match fishing but I have no knowledge or experience of fishing with a pole.

Is it futile to enter competitions with just a float rod and a feeder rod? I'm not expecting to win anything, at least not at first, more as a learning experience, but in time I'd like to feel I could be competitive, or what's the point?

Should I bite the bullet and start to invest in a pole and all the kit that goes with it along with some coaching sessions or is there merit in just sticking with what I know? Are there any successful match anglers that don't use a pole?

Silverfisher

Site Supporter
Depends what you are fishing. I don't match fish but going off the matches in the clubs I'm in running line certainly wins most matches on rivers, stillwaters are fairly even between running line and pole and pole wins virtually all the matches on canals.

MrBen

Site Supporter
Depending on the venue you can still do well on a feeder, I’ve done it myself, everyone fishing a pole and I was casting a little pellet feeder across to the far bank, was catching bigger carp compared to my neighbours f1’s pop your hand in the bag and have a go.

Silasfish

Depends what you are fishing. I don't match fish but going off the matches in the clubs I'm in running line certainly wins most matches on rivers, stillwaters are fairly even between running line and pole and pole wins virtually all the matches on canals.
Not experienced River fishing yet, but it does appeal to me. Would be stillwater.

mbuna_matt

Agreed it depends on the venue, but if you can fish say the method, or a pellet waggler (or similar) who needs a pole?

ukzero1

Growing old disgracefully.
Site Supporter