Maggots in a fridge

Telfish

Hi - first of all thanks to everyone who commented on 'Stick Floats on Winders'. Really really helpful.

I've been fishing for nearly 50 years but in that timeframe I didn't fish from the late 90's until about a year ago. I used to keep all my bait in a undercounter fridge in the garage. No problems encountered that I can remember however I've moved house a few times and have just purchased a mini fridge & it's in the shed.

The other day all the red maggots decided to go for a walk inside the fridge and quite a few entered the freezer box & died. It was a horrible mess as you can imagine.

Any help on keeping bait in a small fridge would be appreciated, especially in a small one.

Steve

RedhillPhil

Computers verified, riots quelled, wars started.
Site Supporter
Just to reinforce what Like Not Now Kato has said. If the maggots are going walkabout they're not cold enough.

tipitinmick

Site Supporter
You had left the lids off the maggot tubs hadn’t ya mate ? Only if not and like what endpeg has said .... they may have sweated ?

carphauler

Barbel Tickler
At this time of year my maggots are kept in the shed in a washing up bowl so they have freedom to move around rather than kept in a bait box.
They are covered with maize then riddled before I go fishing, never had any escapees.
Sometimes I put some raw meat offcuts in there to keep them feeding and plump.

carphauler

Barbel Tickler
As said aswell, a normal fridge will switch off anyway below about 10 degrees, that's why I have beko fridge freezers with digital thermostats in my outbuilding as it can get cold then the fridge switches the freezer off and everything defrosts.

Telfish

You had left the lids off the maggot tubs hadn’t ya mate ? Only if not and like what endpeg has said .... they may have sweated ?
Ah, yes the lid was off on all 3 boxes just like I always do. Only one sweated. So do you leave the lids on and how full are the boxes?

Telfish