Knackered PC help

Status
Not open for further replies.

pauln

Dreadexit
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
4,665
In the sweeps put me down for mobo fault :p
to try
unplug the CPU power and normal power plugs and put back
unplug memory and reseat
make sure power lead plugged in fully ( lol )
 

crusty

Regular member
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
4,945
I had exactly the same problem a couple of months ago. I changed the PSU and everything worked for about 24 hours then went back to how it was before.
I had a guy take a look and he said the motherboard was knackered.

So I bought a new PC.


Ian
 

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
74,703
Well so far PSU for the win - new one fitted and booted up first time [:t]

Reading crusty's post above [:eek:] - I'll report back on this in 24hours lol
 

Wise Owl

Regular member
Account Locked
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
39,730
Originally posted by Dave

Well so far PSU for the win - new one fitted and booted up first time [:t]

Reading crusty's post above [:eek:] - I'll report back on this in 24hours lol

As Arkwright would say b b b b b b b b b b b b buy a new one [:D]
 

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
74,703
Running better than it has for a while [:T]
 

davylad

Regular member
Site Supporter
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
7,540
While we're on about computer problems, my granddaughter ask me about bother on her laptop. She gets a black screen on boot u and it won't start, and although I think I could fix it, it might mean losing some work she needs for her studies. She has taken it into the shop, and they reckon there are lots of people with same problem. Personally I suspect it could from a MS update, rather than a virus. I just wondered if anyone else has the same trouble.
 

Col7777

Regular member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
4,976
@Dave, It sounds like you could have cured it mate, I bought a Gaming PC off Ebay a while ago and after a week it did as yours did, I ended up buying a new PSU and it has been great ever since.

@davylad, Can you boot it in to safe then work on it from there, and as mentioned in above posts are you getting any beeps as it boots up, the number of beeps if any are a clue to the problem?
 

davylad

Regular member
Site Supporter
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
7,540
No I tried that Col, but it just reverted back to black screen. I eventually got a chance to turn it back in system restore but that too wouldn't work, on about five restore points. I could maybe have wiped it clean and started again, but she has some essay work on she didn't want to lose, so she took in to the local shop.
 

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
74,703
55 hours now and stopped counting [:D]

I've got everything on it backed up to a cloud and a second back up to an external hard drive, plus snapshots of software licences, and other data, to be on the safe side.
So the worse case scenario is having to open my wallet for a replacement and the likely hood of that happening is ....... lol
 

Col7777

Regular member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
4,976
@Dave, If you do have to replace the motherboard, it isn't as hard as a lot think. I rebuilt a PC a while ago and I will admit I was a bit apprehensive about replacing the motherboard, but all the instructions are there as to where to put the cables etc, it didn't take that long plus you get a setup disk.
Also there are a few video clips on Youtube as well to show you. Any way Dave let us hope you don't need to go that route.
 

davylad

Regular member
Site Supporter
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
7,540
Fitting it is the easy bit, choosing the right one for the rest of the components might be a problem if it's getting on a bit.
 

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
74,703
In all fairness this PC is a bit of mish mash of components which I've added and swapped over time [8D]

It started life as a tower and over time has had a new MB, Chip, Heatsink & Fan, Graphics card, additional DVD/CD writer, additional hard drive, USB2 card, the obligatory additional memory, and at some point it looks like I opened up the PSU as the seals were broken but I can't remember when and why.
It's running backed up to a cloud, plus an external drive and to me it's like an old pair of good shoes - worn in, comfortable, and still doing the job [:D]

A quick reckon up puts what's left of the original tower (the case) at circa 2006 [:I]
 

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
74,703
Lol [:D]

I forgot to add it's had a new fan to the graphic's card at some point as well.
If memory serves me correctly the original fan bearings went and to replace he complete card was about 40 for a like for like spec.
Maplins - new fan of the same size, about 3 and a bit of fiddling to get it to fit [:p]
 

chrismo

Regular member
Joined
Apr 7, 2011
Messages
472
Originally posted by Dave
It started life as a tower and over time has had a new MB, Chip, Heatsink & Fan, Graphics card, additional DVD/CD writer, additional hard drive, USB2 card, the obligatory additional memory, and at some point it looks like I opened up the PSU as the seals were broken but I can't remember when and why.

If you were using the original power supply it was probably well under powered after you'd added all those extra bits. I hope the one you put in has a higher wattage.

Anyway sounds like you've fixed it.
 

crusty

Regular member
Joined
Apr 27, 2002
Messages
4,945
Originally posted by chrismo

Originally posted by Dave
It started life as a tower and over time has had a new MB, Chip, Heatsink & Fan, Graphics card, additional DVD/CD writer, additional hard drive, USB2 card, the obligatory additional memory, and at some point it looks like I opened up the PSU as the seals were broken but I can't remember when and why.

If you were using the original power supply it was probably well under powered after you'd added all those extra bits. I hope the one you put in has a higher wattage.

Anyway sounds like you've fixed it.



With hindsight I think this might be where I went wrong.
I replaced my PSU with like for like, maybe I should have upped it because I fitted a new upgraded graphics card a few weeks before it went into total frustration mode.


Ian
 

pauln

Dreadexit
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
4,665
A cheap 700 watt may not be as good as a good 400 watt
normaly I use enermax , corsair , seasonic or be quiet
 

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
74,703
I put in a 500w, not sure about quality and I've thrown the box so don't know the make - it was black if that helps [:D]


PS ... still working [:t]
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top