International moves

Dave Spence

MD virtual champion 2020. Golden Pie winner 2018.
Site Supporter
Does anyone know of a reputable, reasonably priced, removal company. Our furniture is in storage in Skegness and they have quoted £4200 plus VAT to take our stuff over to Southern Ireland. Our new home is approximately 20 minutes from Rosslare harbour and our stuff is in 8 wooden crates approximately 10ft x 10ft x 8ft high. I thought the quote was very high but I have no frame of reference as I have never done anything like this before. Any advice would be gratefully received.

Sportsman

Site Supporter
Our first move was from Scotland to southern France and cost £3,600 . It was a husband and wife team, based in France. We supplied the labour in Scotland and they supplied the labour in France. That was some years ago, though.
Best advice is look for the small family firm rather than a large international firm and make sure that there is no arguments about what is included.
Our last move to this house was the worst, when we got here the guys informed me that they wouldn't be carrying anything upstairs. They were 3 eastern Europeans who had sub contracted to a UK company called European International. They had no idea what they were doing and were on a derisory day rate. TBH I felt sorry for them. My contact was with the UK outfit and after a couple of phone calls the stuff got carried upstairs, but it should never have happened

Peter

'Mugger'
Staff member
Site Supporter
Dave, Just a thought but if you haven't already, it may be worth contacting any Haulage/Removal companies local to where you are moving to and seeing if they could provide a quote. They may be competitive if it could provide them with a return load. ;)

danny_glover09

Site Supporter
A friend of mine has a removals firm and does many jobs over to Ireland. I could give you his number for you to have a chat if you want. Great bunch of lads.

Dave Spence

Site Supporter