Its a legacy of when we lost the previous Profile photo database [8D]
What your seeing is your 'old' link in your profiles pointing to the new image that has been uploaded into the new database - if that makes sense?
When an image is uploaded it is automatically given a reference number so if you originally had number 67, for example, and someone has now loaded the 67th 'new' image into the latest database, then your profile will show their photo as well
I knew it would happen [}][}] To change your photo just bob into your Profile, clear out All the old link and reload a new one - that is unless you prefer the new look which in some cases might be a definate improvement 
Off to work once again so sees you all later, Dave