Hybrid or Hollow elastic

Stevo1s77

I’ve just brought a new pole with 7 top kits, 2 x match and 5 x power kits and looking to put elasticate with Preston Dura Slip or a hollow.

ive read and watched a number of videos/articles and this has probably made it more confusing...

The more I read about the dura slip the more I’m siding towards, but then the NG hollow and Preston Hollo comes into play (can get that in a bulk for for approx. £8.50 per elastic).

Keen to get users thoughts.

AdeB

Site Supporter
I've been using NG Ambercore for the last 3 years without issues, thinking of swapping to the NG Untra Core, it is similar to Slik.

Maesknoll

Chris
Staff member
Site Supporter
I have pretty much exclusively switched from hollows to hybrid, I was trying KND hybrid, but have since switched to Dura Slip and will probably elasticate my new pole exclusively with it (except really light solids for silvers) I know Des Shipp has changed most of his topkits to it and he is also impressed with how long it lasts.

Simon Walsh

Site Supporter
What size of Dura slip will you be using across your new pole Chris
Thanks Simon

tipitinmick

Site Supporter
Dura Slip hybrid is lovely stuff. I’ve changed two kits over to it to see what I thought. Made the mistake of going too light really. I put 9 and 11 in. Should have gone 11 and 13 really. It’s very soft and forgiving. I’ll change all my kits to Dura eventually. I’ve proper fell out out with Daiwa hydro these days. Doesn’t seem the elastic it used to be. My dad tried some Drennan and was swapped out the very next day. Said it was like going back 30 years. 🤷‍♂️

Stevo1s77

I have pretty much exclusively switched from hollows to hybrid, I was trying KND hybrid, but have since switched to Dura Slip and will probably elasticate my new pole exclusively with it (except really light solids for silvers) I know Des Shipp has changed most of his topkits to it and he is also impressed with how long it lasts.