How far out do I fish?

Zaknufc

Evening everyone

I’ve recently joined a club and will be match fishing this year hopefully. I’ve never done it before and want to make sure I have the right tackle. How far out should I be fishing on the pole ? I have an old Maver definition 13M but only 2 Top kits. Is it worth getting universal top kits or get another pole with extra kits but I don’t want to spend the world.
I’ve seen the Preston edge monster for £179.99 and top kits seem reasonably priced but it’s only 10M.
Thanks

Maesknoll

Chris
Staff member
Site Supporter
That’s a very open question. Somedays fishing just a topkit will be enough to compete, or necessary to compete, another day 16m or more might be where you need to be. Snake lakes will be different than open water lakes, you’ll need to get to the shallow water across. Pretty much impossible to answer without more detail I ‘m afraid.

tipitinmick

Site Supporter
Well, If I was you I’d try and find out where your club matches were going to be held first. Spend a little time gaining some info. Ask the locals what they catch, tactics and bait. If you’ve not been in a match before I’d suggest going on the first two or three just to get a feel for it before throwing serious money at it. You may not like it.

With regards distances. Well that’s an hard one as what a lot of us try to do is find a feature to fish to. Whether it be a drop off or a read bed. Something that the fish feel happy to reside near. This can be as close as a couple of metres on some lakes. This is what you will find if you go do your homework first.

Don’t rush it pal. Take your time and most of all .... enjoy it. Good luck. 👍

ukzero1

Growing old disgracefully.
Site Supporter