Hook Lengths

Status
Not open for further replies.

Johnny No Go

New member
Joined
Jul 14, 2010
Messages
3
[:H] Hi! Guys New to the Site Could Any Please tell me how I can Get My hooklengths ths same length . I Dont Like The Ready Made ones that you can buy .

And How Do The Maker's Make Them [:W]
 

fish finder

callum
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
1,324
hi mate welcome to the site you,ll love it.
what are the rigs you plan on making hair/spade ect...
 

arkon

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2010
Messages
27
Hi mate and wecome...

I start by tying my hook to the line first then mesuring to where I need my loop, tye the loop (I use a Seymo Loop Tyer to finsh as it gives you the small loops) then trim.

They are nearly always the same size give a 1/2mm or so. I do them for my pole rigs as i only want short ones and the ones in the packet are far to long...

I have a hook tyer and loop tyer from ebay...

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2-x-NEW-SEYMO-LOOP-TYER-FISHING-COURSE-MATCH-RIG-CARP-/310167723888?cmd=ViewItem&pt=UK_SportingGoods_FishingAcces_RL&hash=item48376fdf70
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MATCHMAN-HOOK-TYER-TIER-BLUE-GREEN-PINK-/220633503786?cmd=ViewItem&pt=UK_SportingGoods_FishingAcces_RL&hash=item335ec8182a

but you can get them from local tackle shops...
 

fishhead

toon barmy
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,346
Have a look at this Johnny.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,13019_4911344,00.html

You'll need a loop tyer, but you get the same length every time.
 

kevb

was 'bigkevb'
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
3,054
johnny were having a fishin at lindholme from 6th -8th aug if your interested .......[:T][:T][:T][:T]
 

arkon

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2010
Messages
27
Originally posted by fishhead

Have a look at this Johnny.

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,13019_4911344,00.html

You'll need a loop tyer, but you get the same length every time.

Just got the box and loop tier through today.... Watched vid but only got 1 out of ten correct legnth....

Hopefully practise makes perfect...[:C]

but saying that 10 out of 10 with old loop tier [:D]
 

Neil ofthe nene

Doing things differently.
Site Supporter
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
22,663
Length of board with 2 nails at the distance apart you want your hooklength. Tie the hook and catch it on one nail. Bend the line round the other nail and hold the doubled line and tie your loop. Should be the same length every time.

I actually use a variation of this with one nail and distances marked on the board. I then catch the hook on the nail and hold the doubled line and slowly extend the length until the loop is level with the mark I want and then tie off. I certainly get within a 1/4 inch each time.
 

BBE555

bbe555
Joined
Oct 9, 2003
Messages
394
Once you have tied the hook you place the hook around the peg in the preston hook boxes or like as mentioned before use 2 nails in a piece of wood . Then run the line around the other peg and grip both starnds so this forms a loop around around the peg . Keep gripping where you have piched the line and tie the loop knot and you will find once tied this is the excact length of the pegs .
 

carlh

Regular member
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Messages
849
preston hook box,it lets you tie the exact same hooklengh all the time i wouldnt be without one.
 

Morse

Regular member
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
152
Originally posted by Cookyr

i cant wait for my preston hook box to arrive
I've just brought another one today (I now have 5 small ones and 2 larger ones) and wonder how I managed without them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top