Holiday to Melbourne Airline and Landmark Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ed2

T-Total Clustaf**k
Hello all!

In a few weeks I'm off to Melbourne for 3 weeks from 14th November to 4th December. I was after some advice as this is my first time in aus and my first long-haul flight too!

Firstly, what airline would you guys recommend based on experience? I have been looking at Etihad Airways which do a reasonable return fare Birmingham to Melbourne via Amsterdam and Dubai with good departure and arrival times. Does anybody know what food and beverages are complimentary and what costs extra onboard?

Also, I'm thinking of going for business class since the idea of sitting cramped in a window seat of a row of 3, with two others between me and freedom to walk about the cabin makes me a bit dubious of economy. Plus the business class seats recline to beds and I'm fairly sure there's a better service. I'm basing this on experience of my longest 5 hour flight to turkey which was damn uncomfortable (each time with different airlines too!) and I'm not sure that it's gonna be pleasant flying for around 20 hours altogether in those seats!

Once I'm there, are there any must do and must sees that I should know about? :)

Thanks,

Ed

Shez

I've flown Cathay Pacific, to Bali, and more recently Emirates, to South Africa. Not much to choose between either apart from CP gave us a free upgrade for one of our flights. Both good airlines with good service, will hopefully be using one of them again in the coming years.

The long haul flights tend to give you a decent amount of space, I'm 6'2" and had plenty of room. Both long haul holidays lasted the best part of a day, including transfers, etc. There was plenty of films, tv, music, games, etc to choose from and we also took a tablet loaded with dvd's for our waits between flights.
Economy class is pretty good on long haul, 1st class is excellent, can't comment on business class.