Hi newbie here

JayD

Hi everyone, I've just joined MD after being a long time lurker.
My name is John, I live in south Leeds, I've just passed 70 years of age, and have been surrounded by, and involved with, angling since before I could walk. My parents met at the Leeds & District ASA club, my mother worked there, and my dad, along with two uncles, were life members. Some of my earliest memories are of sitting in the small lounge of the club, staring at the stuffed fish in glass cases, while my Dad attended meetings. I used to be mesmerised by those fish, especially a pair of massive roach caught by J Bazley. I used to sit there while being supplied with a succession of crisps, and bottles of pop by either my father, my uncles, or those that became my 'adoptive uncles', while the Trigg bothers who were the doormen, kept a watchful eye on me. It was inevitable that I would go into angling, it was in my blood, from 'helping' my father sort his tackle the night before a match, aged about 3, to the old git, writing this. Unfortunately, I didn't have much time actually fishing with my father, because of ill health, and him dying when I was 10, but he instilled in me many ideals, that are still with me, and still hold true, today.
As you will have gathered I do prattle on a bit, but I felt I had to, because through my lurking, I have got to 'know' some of you, or at least your forum persona, and I thought it only fair that I told you a bit about me, to sort of even things up a bit. I could go on, and often do, but I'll leave that for another time.

John.

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Welcome on board John, there's a few Leeds lads and lasses on here, feel free to prattle on as much as you like :)

Dave Spence

MD virtual champion 2020. Golden Pie winner 2018.
Site Supporter
Hi everyone, I've just joined MD after being a long time lurker.