HELP - River Feeder and Ledger Fishing

Hi all, first post on the forum. Have been loving so many threads, some quality information on here.

I am new to river feeder and ledger fishing, after fishing ponds on the float for many years, and I wondered what I was doing wrong:
The problem - I keep casting a feeder on rivers like the Nidd (Skip Bridge) and Ouse (Fulford, York) and no matter what weight I'm using (1oz, 2oz, 3oz etc), it will not hold bottom.

My set up:

9ft Ron Thompson OTT feeder rod
Daiwa Ninja 3000 Reel
9lb Braid
8lb shock leader (mono)

Would you say my problem is the length and strength of the rod?

Any help/tips/advice would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks chaps

NoCarpPlease

Site Supporter
No - the rod should not make that much difference to the ability to hold bottom, although most people fish with 11 to 13 ft length rods on medium to large rivers.

the most thorough book on "match fishing style" ledger and feeder fishing is still Bob Roberts' tome from 30 years ago.
Luckily - he's published a lot of the sections as blogs on his own website

chapter 3 covers the basics of what you're trying to achieve.
It's worth adding that casting out directly in front and feeding out a "downstream bow" of line has the same effect as adding weight to the feeder to achieve "critical balance".

Silverfisher

Site Supporter
Sounds like a pretty fast river if you can’t hold bottom with 3oz. Were you still having problems earlier in the season before all the rain?

No - the rod should not make that much difference to the ability to hold bottom, although most people fish with 11 to 13 ft length rods on medium to large rivers.

the most thorough book on "match fishing style" ledger and feeder fishing is still Bob Roberts' tome from 30 years ago.
Luckily - he's published a lot of the sections as blogs on his own website

chapter 3 covers the basics of what you're trying to achieve.