Help re Fish Tank please

Status
Not open for further replies.

rookerygirl

At the weekend Josh managed to con us out of 2 fan tailed goldfish and a bowl. Its nothing fancy just a simple bowl with gravel and a plant. The problem is we have noticed that over a period of 3 days the water just gets cloudier and cloudier then the fish end up permamnently on the surface as if they are suffocating and trying to get air, with loads of bubbles around the edge of the water. I have cleaned the water already once and given the gravel a good wash in case it was that but it has happened again and I am worried I am going to end up ewither suffocating the fish from the water or killing them from the stress of cleaning them out every 3 days. Can anyone give me any advice as Josh will be terribly upset if anything happens to them.

Benji

Account Locked
Never kept fish, but are you using water direct from the tap?

DryNetNick

I've got a few fan tailed goldfish. I'm no expert but here are a few tips.

1) make sure your tank is big enough. mine is 18' wide x 12' high x 12 deep.
2) get yourself a good pump with filter that will keep the oxygen levels up.
3) Don't put the tank in direct sunlight.
4) Use some 'tap safe' or alike to condition the water for the fish
5) Dont over feed the fish. No more than what they can eat in 1 - 2 mins.
6) If your worried about the water, you can buy a pack that allows you to test it to confirm Ph levels ect.

Hope this helps a little mate.

Last edited:

rookerygirl