Help please - New to fishing and need some advice!

new2fishing

Hi,

I am completely new to fishing and i am looking to buy a float/match rod. I have the fantastic looking cadence match combo in mind at £70. I didn't want to go so cheap as to suffer from a poor rod/reel but also don't want to spend a fortune.

My questions is would you recommend a 10ft or 13ft rod for a newbie? I will be float fishing on commercial lakes, local smaller lakes and streams. My other question would be what mono line is recommended?

any and all advice is welcome and i thank you in advance!

tipitinmick

Site Supporter
Maver sell a decent little float or feeder set up if thats something that interests you ? Have a look on their website. Dont forget a rod license will you pal ? 👍

MartinWY

Site Supporter
Hi,

I am completely new to fishing and i am looking to buy a float/match rod. I have the fantastic looking cadence match combo in mind at £70. I didn't want to go so cheap as to suffer from a poor rod/reel but also don't want to spend a fortune.

My questions is would you recommend a 10ft or 13ft rod for a newbie? I will be float fishing on commercial lakes, local smaller lakes and streams. My other question would be what mono line is recommended?

any and all advice is welcome and i thank you in advance!

Line wise you can't go wrong with maxima chameleon. They do a "one shot" spool, which is designed to fill a reel without you having to join two 100m spools together.

Worth reading about how to fill a spool before you do so, as if done wrong, you'll get a lot of twist which is annoying and causes tangles.

You'll get loads of good advice on here. Enjoy your fishing journey :)

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
For small lakes, commercials and streams you won't go far wrong with a 10ft float rod ...

CarpCatcher86