HELP on fishing up in the water on pole for carp

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimmyboy

hi all...

i am looking for some help at fishing up in the water on banded pellet for carp on the pole. i tried it the other day and had a couple of fish but couldnt get it to perfection...
how often should i be feeding pellets over the top of my float....
how deep should i be fishing....
any other useful tips welcome....

i seemed to be missing loads of bites too. would thid be little silvers messing with my bait.

thanks jamie....[:H]

Neil ofthe nene

Doing things differently.
Site Supporter
I'm no expert but one thing is to have a very short amount of line between float and pole.

As for depth, I think you have to experiment and find what they want on the day. But I would start at 18 inch and go to 12 or 24 to get bites.

Amount of feed can be important. Feed say 12-24 pellets and you will push the fish down, feed 3-5 and they will come up to compete for the food.

Last edited:

Hatman

Drawbag ace
Getting the right balance between bait size and hook is important. I've seen a lot of people using a size 14 with a 6mm hard pellet on a long hair, when an 18 or 20 with the pellet hanging close to the bend of the hook seems far more effective to me, often fish will self hook. If you make sure that you keep the line free of slack between the pole tip and the float, often you'll have hooked the fish the instant the float dips.

apsy2

apsy2
i know a lot of anglers tie a band onto a hair having it around 3mm from the hook bend. i prefer to put my band directly on the hook,i dont lose many fish or bands on this method!

Real ideas

Nick Palmer
Site Supporter