Have you knowingly cheated in a match?

NoCarpPlease

Site Supporter
so that Andy Power doesn’t get any more undeserved exposure ;)
nor hypothetical situation, observations or rumours!

maybe I’m naive, but I really don’t think much deliberate or accidental cheating goes on in the matches that I fish, I’ve been fishing opens for over 35 years and just haven’t witnessed or heard much ... but perhaps I’m just not observant?
so confessional time:

accidental/unwitting
  • I fished the wrong peg on winter league once (i Was late, we were two short and it was a 90 peg walk to find the captain to determine which of the two pegs ... I picked the wrong one and was disqualified) pre mobile phone
  • I used to leave my top kits in the edge whilst feeding with a Pole pot on canals ... I just didn’t know/think this wasn’t allowed until one of my team told me (fishing at top level 28 years ago)
  • national champs ... scalesmen were stopping every 3 pegs and getting anglers either side to bring their nets to the scales. When the scales stopped at next peg (Steve gardener as it happened) I walked over to ask if I should bring my fish now. The head steward had a meltdown and threatened to disqualify me ... needed to be sorted out by the captain back at the HQ. Strictly speaking it was against the rules, but hardly cheating!

deliberate
  • the one and only time, and i’m still ashamed over 30 years later, even though it made no difference to any results! I had a big perch about 2 pounds follow a minnow in, so I flicked it out again still hooked and snared the perch (and it wasn’t In Yorkshire!)

witnessed