Hair hook snapping

Matt123

Hi,

Ive experienced this a number of times recently with rigs bought from different locations (im pretty new to this hair rig malarkey), recently cost me a nice size carp.

The knot i tie to the rig is fine, but the pre tied hook seems to just come off after a fish or two or when unhooking the fish.

Any idea's? Doesnt seem like im doing much wrong but any advise would be great.

Cheers

DomCrtr1975

An Idiot looking for his Village!
i would suggest learning to tie a hair rig and move away from expensive pre-tied rig - you dont anything fancy, just a basic knotless Knot hair rig.

Very good video that taught me how to do it a few years ago - well explained and easy to understand

Raven004

Site Supporter
Hi,

Ive experienced this a number of times recently with rigs bought from different locations (im pretty new to this hair rig malarkey), recently cost me a nice size carp.

The knot i tie to the rig is fine, but the pre tied hook seems to just come off after a fish or two or when unhooking the fish.

Any idea's? Doesnt seem like im doing much wrong but any advise would be great.

Cheers
it happens to the best of us, as stated above you are probably better tying your own, but these can also fail you, I lost a big cat last year from tying a quick lazy rig,

Matt123

Thanks, the video seems pretty straight forward, will give it a go with some bits in the box and pickup some bait stops for doing my own. Nice one

Matt123

it happens to the best of us, as stated above you are probably better tying your own, but these can also fail you, I lost a big cat last year from tying a quick lazy rig,
Strange thing it happened on small fish aswell, just came off as i was unhooking. Suppose if i tie my own cant blame anyone else ?

DomCrtr1975

Thanks, the video seems pretty straight forward, will give it a go with some bits in the box and pickup some bait stops for doing my own. Nice one