Float rod to Handle big carp?

David_581

Site Supporter
Firstly i’d like to say what a brilliant site this is. As someone that’s fairly new to fishing it’s been invaluable to me while learning. So many of the videos and articles online are glorified adverts. I always come here to get good honest advice. This is my first post as I don’t seem to be able to find an answer myself and am starting to feel A little lost to be honest with you.
I really hope that I am not posting where I am not allowed to do so as a new member. If so, I am really sorry.

Basically I have been fishing for a few years now. I love to catch carp and tench in my local lakes. I haven’t ventured outside of my area too much.
I have to admit I find sitting waiting for a buzzer to go off very boring. I have a feeder rod and love it. I also have a cheap 6M pole that I enjoy using But when a really big fish takes it I get snapped off. There are some high 20’s where I fish.
I with the float I absolutely love how I can react to bites on the pole and with I could fish like that for big carp with a rod and reel. I recently asked the manager of my local tackle shop if there is a float rod designed for large carp. He said that I need to choose what I want to do. ‘Fish for small carp on a match rod, or fish for big ones with a 2-3lb tc rod on a buzzer’. I felt a bit stupid for asking the question honestly.
However then I stumbled upon a video by John Bailey online where he is doing exactly what I want. BIG carp on a rod and reel. He mentioned that he used a Hardy Marksman Rod to do so. I have had a look online and there are many options for them. They are also very expensive. I see that Korum had a strong float rod for big carp that has now been discontinued. If possible I’d really like some advice from the experts on this site as I am a little lost.

Again a I am sorry if I am posting into the wrong section or am too new here to ask a question.