Float fishing for Pike.

Silver fan 82

I'm still relatively new to Pike fishing but want to do more float fishing for this beautiful species having mostly caught the on lures in the past many years ago.
I just have a few general questions. Do you generally prefer your bait over depth on the bottom or suspended off bottom? Also if fishing off bottom do you like the float to drift around your swim?
If fishing off bottom how do present your bait? So it's hanging naturally? Ie hook through the dorsal area?
I understand there are many variables that determine how you fish on the day but want to gain as much information as I can.
Thanks in advance for your advice guys.

SerialBlanker

Site Supporter
I do both. I always fish 2 rods and generally have one rod static so over depth and one drifting in the breeze.

How i hook the drifting one depends on the bait. If its something quite tough I'll hook it so it floats like a fish would swim. If I'm using sardine, which I use the most, I hook it in the tail as I'm not confident they would stay on otherwise

Silver fan 82

I do both. I always fish 2 rods and generally have one rod static so over depth and one drifting in the breeze.

How i hook the drifting one depends on the bait. If its something quite tough I'll hook it so it floats like a fish would swim. If I'm using sardine, which I use the most, I hook it in the tail as I'm not confident they would stay on otherwise
Thanks for the advice. In your experience does the static rig outfish the drifting one or visa versa?

Silverfisher

Site Supporter
A lip hooked roach on a light waggler or stick set up seems to get lots of pike bites for me! I bet I wouldn’t catch them if I tried though ?

rd115

Barbus Minimus
Site Supporter
Never had much luck on the float, doesn't matter how i present them.

Float ledgering has brought me the most success, so a static bait on the bottom.

Silver fan 82

Never had much luck on the float, doesn't matter how i present them.