Fishing 2 rods without tangles

Tom212

Hi guys I’m relatively new to carp fishing and I’m warming to the idea of fishing multiple rods at once. However I’m hesitant to do it due to the worry of getting my lines tangled while playing a carp and potentially harming the fish. Do you guys have any advice on how to fish two rods safely and avoid tangled lines ect? Any help would be appreciated, thankyou in advance!

ALLROUND TRYER

You will never eradicate it completely because carp are carp and dont always do what you want them to do:cautious:
Back leading helps if it is viable, you dont have to fish both rods within 6" of each other either., If i fish over a baited area i usually put one on the money and the other rod on the edge of the area a few feet apart.. it can often pick off a wary fish hanging back off the spot.
Single banksticks and not a pod gives you more scope for avoiding it also.
If it does happen dont panic, just make sure the rod you arent holding can give line, place it low to the water, and play the fish out as normal... then respool both reels:p nah you will be fine.

Godber

.Nobice and inventor of W@nkles
Site Supporter
When l used to fish two rods l never bothered with a rod pod. I had the rods set either side of me and fished to the furtherst limit of my peg. But😕 l fished 'runs' waters mainly where it didn't really matter where you put your bait. If you are fishing harder waters you might want to put both baits closer together in which case l would use a back lead or slack line.

PJG

Back leads have already been mentioned and they do help. When playing the carp just lift the other rod off the rod rests and lower it in the water so that the butt rests on the bite alarm, don't lower the reel in the water. When the carp is in the net just put the other rod back in the rests.

RegalisXFM

слава Україні🇺🇦
Site Supporter
^^ back leads, back leads, back leads ^^