Status
Not open for further replies.

jcbenson

Account Locked
Will be shortly taking delivery of a new pole with:

3 match kits
2 power kits
2 pulla kits

I generally fish gravel pits, and commercial. The pits can be strange; it's generally small silverfish fishing (roach up to 12oz), but must be able to handle bonus fish as these often turn up (bream/tench/perch up to 4lb) and are match winners. The commercials is normally open water/far bank fish, average 4-5lb up to 9lb max. Also, I have a margin pole (beastmaster, drennan red 18-20), so that area on commercials is covered. At the moment I've managed on my main pole with just two different elastics; drennan green 6-8, and drennan pink 14-16, although sometimes i might be undergunned on the 14-16; only just started using a pulla bung on those top kits.

My initial thoughts were to do the following;

1 x Middy 4-6 solid (match kit) for light silvers
2 x Drennan 6-8 hollow (match kit) for general silvers

2 x drennan 14-16 hollow (power kit) for heavy carping
2 x drennan 10-12 hollow (pulla kits) for heavy silvers and light carping

Any advances? I don't mind changing to other elastic brands if its worth it. Is 14-16 too light for heavier carp (4-6lb)? I thought the pulla kits would be better on a "lighter" carp elastic so I can use them properly as intended.

Rather than 14-16 hollow, should I use a solid so that I don't get the run around on non-pulla kit? Or should I just use drennan pulla kits on the other tops?

Christ, it's a minefield...(and I'm going stonfo not dacron! Internal bushes on the match kits, external on the power/pulla kits...I'm going mad...)

Last edited:

slappy2

haha i have 2 for match 4-6 and d4
3 top kits with hollow 11
1 top kit with h13 and 1 top with h15
does whatever i need pal!

find h11 does 80% of my fishing aswell!
use preston as cheaper but i used to use ALOT latex natural colour maver sensas stuff!

jcbenson

Account Locked