Drop back bites - river roach and chub - HELP?

Hi all, so today I caught my first ever chub. I'm quite new to river fishing and feeder fishing - I was using a 44g open end feeder with liquidised bread, 3ft (90cm) hooklength with size 14 - 3 white maggots.

First cast, first chub, second cast, roach, a few casts later, a 2nd little chub (please correct me if these aren't chub). But then I couldn't seem to hit bites or tell what were bites, I presume the rod tip generally does bob up and down a little sometimes when you have a bow in the line? Also, in a drop back bite in a slow to medium pace river, should the tip and line go completely slack? I kept getting a little twitch but never what I imagine to be a full drop back bite.

Can someone offer any advice or explain with winter roach and chub, what a drop back bite would look like or when to strike?

Thanks a lot,
Dave

Attachments

• pixlr_20201129162253703.jpg
    pixlr_20201129162253703.jpg
    390.9 KB · Views: 41

MarkW

I tend to fish much light feeders than that with a big bow, a piece of flake on a 10 (yes, 10) and get the feeder to move, with the fish hooking themselves. Hoping to have a session doing just that this week and will try to video it - not sure when it'll be on Youtube though..

What you've caught is two dace - not chub - and a roach, and dace are notoriously hard to hit on the feeder but not impossible.

OldTaff

Site Supporter
My dad taught me to always use the lightest possible feeder you can get away with and still hold bottom, also shortening up the hook length can create more positive bite indication without spooking the fish.

Thanks Fellas, that sounds like a good idea Mark. I'd definitely like to see the video whenever you get it done. Good luck!

Thanks PG ?

I've attached another image of one of the fish, is he definitely not a small chub ? I thought I'd made my chub start! What a fool.

Attachments

• 20201129_103633.jpg
    20201129_103633.jpg
    219.9 KB · Views: 22