Domestic Extractor systems

richard83

Site Supporter
Hi guys, I’ve got a problem with my house and could think of nowhere better to get an answer than here! I have 3 bathrooms upstairs (sounds excessive I know), currently only use the main bathroom but in time with decent extraction will use all 3 (as the family grow up etc). Anyway each bathroom has an extractor fan built in to the ceiling, each has ducting going into the loft space and along the roof to an exit point on the side of the house. All these ductings meet each other, it seems a s**t system to me where steam is involved. It is not adequate at all. So I’ve three questions, what’s the best system for 3 bathrooms? 2 are with outside walls so could get there own system on the wall if needed. Who would install the system? An electrician or plumber? (I’m a nurse with little diy knowledge) and thirdly how much roughly do you think it would cost? I’m in Chorley and house maintenance is new to me, kind regards Richard M

muskrat

Havin' a Waggle
Site Supporter
I don't know nowt about owt when it come to extractors. But we've got a wall mounted extractor in the bathroom and it is rubbish at extracting steam from above its own level.

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Inline fans with ceiling ducts can be more powerful and at the same time quiet compared to wall mounted.
Each fan should have a none return built into the duct and ideally its own outlet. However combining two into one wont cause a problem.

richard83

Site Supporter
Thanks for the replies so far. I’ll try and attach some pics later. I think 3 to one ducting is a bit much. As for the non return I can guess that they don’t already have that as water had built up mid duct and I encouraged it down the line and it flooded into the last bathroom along the ducting along with a load of black gunk

Arch

Site Supporter
It doesn't work very well, but you can get insulated ducting.

Stansthirdboy

Site Supporter