Digi-Cams

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dervaig

Not sure whether this should have been in "Tackle Talk", but seeing as its not strictly tackle, here goes :
What am I looking for when buying one? What makes one better than another? Which one do you use and would you recommend it?

Dervaig dukewave_e0.gif

Steve M

Site Supporter
Hi Dervaig,
I have had a digital camera for about 1 year now. I have had in the past a number of conventional film cameras,but I wanted the flexibility that a digital camera offered.
I am no expert on this matter and I guess a large no. of MDs will offer more technical advice,but I think it all comes down to what you want the camera for (eg if it is just for posting web pictures or is it for enlarging and printing pictures etc) This basically dictates how much you need to spend.
The heart of a digital camera is its CCD.All pctures are made up of dots or pixels.Generally the more expensive the camera the larger the CCD.This in turn means more pixels,which means more detail in the pictures.This only becomes evident if you need to enlarge/print the pictures,when lack of detail makes the picture look grainy.
This is obviously ignoring things like lens,manual/auto focus/memory cards etc.
I bought a Fuji S602 Zoom for a family holiday to Canada last year.It was expensive,but I think it is a brilliant bit of kit.
I suppose the best idea is to visit a camera store,try them out & see what takes your fancy.There are some good mags around as well for digital camera advice.
Cheers[:)][:)]

The Witness

Hi Dervaig,
Like you I've been thinking of taking the plunge and have just bought a Sony Cybershot.It's a beautiful camera,very compact and easy to use.
The software for downloading pictures onto the PC was a doddle to instal.The problem now is trying to find out how to download shots onto the MD forums!
I can however recommend the Sony.
Cheers,
Richard.

G

I got a new Fuji digi camera,FinepixA303,3.2 million pixels,cracking camera.