Digi Camera - What does "P" do ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

banksy

Life Member
Site Supporter
I've been using digital cameras for a few years now, and upgraded to a digi SLR.

Most of the time, I leave it in the "Auto" mode (fully automatic, you get what it thinks is best).

If I want a good depth of field, I go into "A" (aperture priority) and adjust accordingly.

If I want to control the speed of the exposure, fast to stop moving action or slow to blur moving water, I use "S" (shutter priority).

There's also fully manual.

With "A" or "P" the camera adjusts the speed or the aperture to ensure a correct exposure, using the aperture or the spped you have chosen.

But what the hell does "P" (programme) do ?

I've read the manual back to front, but I'm damned if I can work out how "P" differs from "A" and "S" ! [:(!][:(]

Any ideas ? (It's a Nikon D80).

Simple

Sikea
Program Exposure mode.
So google tells me anyway [:)]

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d80/users-guide/controls.htm#topdial

banksy

Life Member
Site Supporter
Thanks Simon, that explains it a sight more clearly than the manual does! [:)]

Gazhilla

Pasted to Death
If your digital camera lets you shoot in RAW as well or instead of JPEG then the P mode is virtually the same as the auto mode but allowing you to shoot the images RAW. You can also make slight exposure changes i.e. 1 or 2 stop + or - whilst in P whereby in auto you can't. If you don't shoot RAW (which is a digital negative as such) you should learn hoe to use it as you can make exposure and white balance changes (with the appropriate software) without degrading the image.