Derwent

Silverfisher

Site Supporter
Looks a lovely spot. Fishing the derwent on a trip to the peaks is certainly on my to do list!

Scribe

Official Supplier of Pork Pies to the Drowners
Site Supporter
Have fingers crossed for you, good luck. :upthumb:

Yuccaman

I like fishing.
Staff member
Site Supporter
How many MD PB barbel have gone in the last few weeks?! Time for another?

rd115

Some of the gear, No idea
Site Supporter
How many MD PB barbel have gone in the last few weeks?! Time for another?
Pfff I'm fully expecting to blank. When I say I'm a Barbel novice its also coming from being an angling novice 😆

rd115

Site Supporter
I know that swim :) Good luck!
If ya get a touch of insomnia feel free to come say hello 👋

Nowt much happening so far, thought I had a run on the left hand rod fishing the far side crease but was just some rubbish collecting my line.

Wrapped the lead in cheese paste and cast back out and had a savage liner within a few mins, think it spooked out of the swim though 🤔

rd115

Site Supporter
Well twas a blank, but i expected it really.

Packed up about 430am, was a bit foggy and all my stuff (and me) was getting a bit cold and damp, wasn't dressed for it really :LOL: had a few strong liners so i don't know if they spooked or were maybe too small to pick up my donkey choker baits?

On the plus side my new RidgeMonkey VRH300 head torch is super impressive, had plenty of use last night, even using the full beam / spotlight and the charge has only dropped one bar, including 20 minute trudge back to the car on full beam. I was awake all night and didn't sleep so had intermittant use over about 8 hours.
Super comfy to wear and really easy to use, was pratting about with it and was lighting up trees maybe 50 meters away? Illuminated my swim perfectly which made casting a great deal easier in the dark.

No super expensive either, can be had for about £40 in some places, very good investment methinks :D

rd115

Site Supporter
Derwent round 2.