Depth finder rig

L33

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
32
Evening

I fish predominantly on pole and generally tie my rigs to roughs depths. So I will have the same rig tied say 2'6", 3', 3'6", etc and leave approx 1' of line from the float to the loop.

When I get to a water I generally use my longer rig with a plummet on to plumb up my peg depending where I am fishing.

What would be useful would be a rig which has markers on it to give a fairly accurate idea of depth so I could then get the correct rig out. Does anyone know of a product like this?

Thanks

Lee
 

chefster

Shedster!!
Site Supporter
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
6,849
Evening

I fish predominantly on pole and generally tie my rigs to roughs depths. So I will have the same rig tied say 2'6", 3', 3'6", etc and leave approx 1' of line from the float to the loop.

When I get to a water I generally use my longer rig with a plummet on to plumb up my peg depending where I am fishing.

What would be useful would be a rig which has markers on it to give a fairly accurate idea of depth so I could then get the correct rig out. Does anyone know of a product like this?

Thanks

Lee
Mark your top kits in inch markings 👍 AE92ED56-9891-4960-84C9-85598BFF394C.jpeg
 

Neil ofthe nene

Doing things differently.
Site Supporter
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
22,818
Make one. Just have a rig with a shot every six inches. Not a rig you will fish with but one just for finding the rough depth.
 

mickthechippy

space cadet
Staff member
Site Supporter
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
16,447
why dont you tie ALL of your rigs to a set length, My general rigs are all tied to match a top four length of a Daiwa pole

I get one out, plumb up as normal, then cut the rig to suit, including lengths from tip to float

any other kits set up can be easily matched to that or plumbed for different lines
 

L33

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
32
I suppose what I am after is something like Neil says, almost a depth gauge.

This is something new I am trying out with rigs at set intervals as I have found myself retying a lot of rigs recently.

I am hoping that by having rigs set to depths give or take 6" I can avoid it but I suppose only time will tell.
 

Neil ofthe nene

Doing things differently.
Site Supporter
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
22,818
This is a joke I assume...
I think that is unfair. I fully understand what the op is about. No different to having a myriad of float or hooklength combinations, or having elastics for every conceivable situation.

Innovation or specialisation may look strange but you never know what works for any one angler.
 

Nunachuk

Nunachuk
Site Supporter
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
4,312
Someone brought out a rig, that had different colours on the line which equated to different depths, he then lööked at the colour and chose a winder the same colour as the revealed depth. Obviously it wasn't a viable product and I never heard of it again.
 

Nicky Dodds

Regular member
Joined
Feb 24, 2018
Messages
1,726
I think that is unfair. I fully understand what the op is about. No different to having a myriad of float or hooklength combinations, or having elastics for every conceivable situation.

Innovation or specialisation may look strange but you never know what works for any one angler.
How is it no different to having multiple rigs or elastic? This question is as ludicrous as it was the last time someone asked it and if you're endorsing something that is totally pointless then your how to fish blog needs pulling.
Tie your rigs to the length of a top kit whether it's 1, 2, 3, or 4 sections or more.
 

L33

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
32
How is it no different to having multiple rigs or elastic? This question is as ludicrous as it was the last time someone asked it and if you're endorsing something that is totally pointless then your how to fish blog needs pulling.
Tie your rigs to the length of a top kit whether it's 1, 2, 3, or 4 sections or more.
I have done that in the past but then you get to your peg, plumb up and adjust your line to suit.

How much line do you end up throwing away off every rig?

Just trying to be more efficient is all.
 

PearTree

Calder Exile
Site Supporter
Joined
Jul 2, 2020
Messages
292
I have done that in the past but then you get to your peg, plumb up and adjust your line to suit.

How much line do you end up throwing away off every rig?

Just trying to be more efficient is all.
Not much providing all your rigs aren't all set up for top 5's.

I have always carried a selection of different length rigs as suggested by Nicky D and then pick out and adjust the one/s which are the closest to the length required. Once you've fished a venue a few times and have got a feel for the depths then maybe you can fine tune things at home a bit more.
 

L33

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
32
Not much providing all your rigs aren't all set up for top 5's.

I have always carried a selection of different length rigs as suggested by Nicky D and then pick out and adjust the one/s which are the closest to the length required. Once you've fished a venue a few times and have got a feel for the depths then maybe you can fine tune things at home a bit more.
That's what I am doing I have the same rig tied to different lengths at 6" intervals.

I am after something which acts almost as a depth gauge to allow me to then select the rig closest to the depth and trim it suit so to speak.

In the past I tied all my rigs to my top kit length but when I plumbed up I have often found myself cutting 4 foot of line off.
 

Dave Spence

MD virtual champion 2020. Golden Pie winner 2018.
Site Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
9,092
How times have changed. It doesn't seem 5 minutes ago that the only work you did at home was riddling bait and respooling reels. Nowadays everyone seems obsessed with spending more time at home fiddling with kit than they spend on the bank.
 

PearTree

Calder Exile
Site Supporter
Joined
Jul 2, 2020
Messages
292
So why not mark up one of your top kits (but from the bottom up) as suggested by the Chefster and then plumb up with a full length rig ?

Personally I think I'd rather sacrifice a foot or two of line than have multiple rigs set up at 6" increments. What happens if it's windy and you need a longer lash ?
 

JLK

Regular member
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
2,976
That's what I am doing I have the same rig tied to different lengths at 6" intervals.
Why? One rig set to a top kit in length and a plummet is all that's required.

I am after something which acts almost as a depth gauge to allow me to then select the rig closest to the depth and trim it suit so to speak.
As above. Just move your rig up and down and mark the depth up on the top kit with tippex.

In the past I tied all my rigs to my top kit length but when I plumbed up I have often found myself cutting 4 foot of line off.
Going forward. Use the top kit you have marked up to set your rigs up on. No wastage then. And/or take a note pad with you and a take tape measure and make some notes for future 👍🏻😃
 
Top