Dead Maggot trend?

adz1189

Adam
I’ve been reading match write ups at local commercials, plus some posts on here and see that dead maggs are a big deal now? I might have had blinkers on but I’m just learning about this method. Going to give it a try this weekend maybe on the method and on the margin line. Just a couple of questions -

- Does a colour make a difference? Best to use just reds or whites or a mix?
- if fishing the method feeder would it be best to fish a straight plane groundbait mix on the feeder and a couple of maggots on the hook or mix some maggots into the feeder mix also?
- feed a large volume of solely maggots in the margin or a few maggots and mainly Groundbait? Or half and half?

Dusty

I’ve been reading match write ups at local commercials, plus some posts on here and see that dead maggs are a big deal now? I might have had blinkers on but I’m just learning about this method. Going to give it a try this weekend maybe on the method and on the margin line. Just a couple of questions -

- Does a colour make a difference? Best to use just reds or whites or a mix?
- if fishing the method feeder would it be best to fish a straight plane groundbait mix on the feeder and a couple of maggots on the hook or mix some maggots into the feeder mix also?
- feed a large volume of solely maggots in the margin or a few maggots and mainly Groundbait? Or half and half?

Usually fish groundbait in the margins and maggot over the top.
Dead or not I’ve never noticed much difference to be honest.

Gwillim

Don't know how true this is but I have heard that its because the fish are used to anglers tossing unwanted bait into their swims at the end of a session and so when they are dead associating this with a safe meal (how true any of that is I have no clue)

Also as Dusty says that it stops them sodding off!

Silver fan 82